*Part 16* *When We Met*

 

* * * 

Hey, guys here’s your Monday post. I quite like this bit actually. Let me know what you think!

* * * 

If you’re lost or confused or want to reread, please click here and all will be well. ❤

* * * 

I was so confused. And I had so confused for the past million years that we had been running. And before that.

I thought, that Erlik is just a very confusing person. Because he doesn’t ever stop to explain anything. I didn’t think I was going to run for much longer. I was going to lay down, die right here and he was gonna be sorry he ever made me run.

No one should run unless they’re being chased. Or trying to beat someone to the cookies. Either way, I shouldn’t have been running. Because we were running towards pomegranates and who in the world, or underworld, likes pomegranates enough to run?

I got it, he was trying to help. He was trying to make sure I don’t get damned to the underworld forever, it was sweet. Except that, I didn’t really want to go back up there. This was where I belonged. Add a little garden and some trees and it would be perfect. I could be the queen of a whole kingdom. Sure all the subjects of the kingdom were tormented souls and whatever else. But the red sky and dark landscape were starting to grow on me.

“How much longer?” I asked, slowing to a trot. Which was still ridiculous just by the way. “Cause if we’re just going to get pomegranates, I want to add some things to the grocery list.”

“It’s not a grocery list,” He sighed. “The pomegranates might be able to send you back up there, it did for me once.”

“Okay, so the dog needs some more treats and I’m definitely in a more chocolate cake than a vanilla and… since you’re buying, I’m running low on chocolate milk.” I continued to talk. We were not running anymore. He turned to look at me, waiting for me to shut up, his eyebrow was arched and his lip was twitching. I grinned, he’s gorgeous.

“Really?” He sighed. We started walking, quickly. My feet protested and I sighed back.

“Just thought you wanted to know,” I was enjoying his grip on my wrist way more than I should’ve. But his touch was so cool and surprising that I could barely focus. “Oh! I have an idea!”

“Please do tell,” He showed zero signs of tiring and I was getting tired just watching him not get tired.

“I like sarcasm on you,” I grinned and he dropped my wrist. Rude. “Instead of running across the hecking underworld, let’s just sell your soul to the devil and he’ll give us some answers or something.”

“I am the devil,” He gave me the most done look I’d have never seen on anyone.

“Oh,” I nodded, “Wait! So you can like, sell yourself, to yourself and then… problem solved right?”

“It’s an expression, you can’t see your should to the devil,” He looked like he was regretting ever even looking at me in that cafe.

“Okay, that options out,” We were walking again and I wondered how big the underworld is. And why he couldn’t just conjure up a car or something.

“That was never an option,” He just kept walking, not even checking to make sure I’m following.

“I’m just trying to help,” I stuck my tongue out in his direction.

“That’s the problem,” He said, “And close your mouth, you’re not five.”

7 Comments Add yours

  1. RubySky says:

    That last bittttt. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Laurel says:

      This was way too fun to write 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. RubySky says:

        I bettt ;D

        Liked by 1 person

  2. They are like WAAAAAY too adorable together. *heart eyes*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Laurel says:

      AHHH GLAD YOU LIKED THEM😘😌

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment