The Finale~ Christmas; The Weridest Holiday of the Year

Hi guys! Sorry, this post is a little late but I hope you enjoy it! This is the last post of this story so I would love it if you guys could comment so that I know if I should do something like this again.

I lick my lips as Lily glances at me with an expectant look. I’m sitting in her church, she drove me here, and I’m trying to keep an open mind but it’s not really working. Everytime I actually listen to the Pastor’s sermon, I start accepting the ideas. Not something I want to do. I need to just tune it out. Except I promised Lily and I don’t want to break her trust. So I listen. It’s a sermon on the birth of Jesus, I kinda like the idea of a God who would care as much as to give his only son but, I highly doubt that a God like that would let my parents leave Lily on the side of the road.

Marissa wasn’t super excited for me to go but she gave in after some bribing. (Just more promises not money.) Josie was very well, how do I put it, judgmental? Yeah that sounds right. Anyway she gave me a lot of looks that implied questions that would be asked later on. The two twins didn’t even look at me when I left.

“Holly?” Lily whispers. I turn and give her a quizzical look. “You’re falling asleep.”

“Um… yes I kinda am.” I don’t even try to deny it, I’m tried and I’m trying to tune everything out. (Changed my mind about listening) Therefore I’m falling asleep.

“Don’t be so rude!” She hisses and I sit up straighter in my chair. I watch as the preacher talks, he seems so passionate. It’s werid. Kinda… I wish I could be passionate like that about something. But I’m not soooo yea. I shuffle my feet and tap my fingers on the seat. Why can’t this service end?

When it does end, I feel a little different. As if somethings stirring inside me, I’m starving, I haven’t eaten in a long time. I look at Lily, should I ask about food? Her parents are already bugged with me (they really don’t like my sarcasam) but maybe Lily can sweet talk them or something.

“Are you hungry?” I ask Lily.

“A little, are you?” She answers.

“Starving.” I say matter a factly.

“Ok we’re gonna go home and have Christmas food. You wanna come with?” She waits for answer, I blink. Home cooked food? Of course! Espically if it’s free.

“Yes, free food always tastes amazing.” I give a smile. I feel like it’s fake. 

“Are you sure it’s ok? With your mom and all?” Lily’s foster dad asks. His black mustace wiggles up and down as he talks and it’s rather entertaining.

“Oh yeah, Marissa is fine with anything and everything. She evens lets me bring me thug friends into the house. And the amount of weed that we’ve smoked there has made the house smell like it.” I kinda want to take back the words when I see Lily’s foster mom’s face. She looks like she wants to lock Lily in a closet and not let anyone in, “I’m kidding,” I add quickly.

“Right, of course. Let’s go have lunch.” She looks so nervous I feel slightly bad. Lily just shakes her head at me with the slightest bit of a smile tugging at her lips. When we get to their house I almost let out a surprised gasp. Lily’s house has so many Christmas decorations on it I do even know if thier is a real house under there. When we go inside, it’s not any better. They must’ve raided the walmart of all of their Christmas decorations, Costo also.

“Wow, we only have one Santa blowup and a christmas tree at my place.” I nod as an awkward silence falls into place. “Kay, who’s hungry? Cause I know I am!” I try to break it, we’re still standing in the doorway and the wind blows through the open door. Lily’s mom goes into the kitchen to prepare the food and Lily’s dad goes somewhere up the stairs. Lily leads me to her room. It’s decked out in Christmas stuff too.

“So?” Lily promts.

“So what?” I press a button on one of the snowglobe and a sign pops that reads: Hello from Santa’s Workshop. “Please tell me you don’t believe in Santa!”

“What, no I don’t. Did you like the sermon?” She sighs.

“Um sure?” I shrug, “It was long.”

“Nevermind. Let’s go to the kitchen.” She huffs and I shrug again.

As we sit down at the table the smell hits me. The smell of food. Usually Marissa leaves me to fend for myself for food. She gives me money and I buy food. Not a bad deal but this meal will probably be the best I’ve had in a long time. A turkey is laid in front of me and my mouth starts watering. It’s truly wonderful. There’s a ton of other stuff and I pile my plate as much as I can and thank Lily’s mom like 8,000 times. After I’ve stuffed myself to the point of explosion, I have some more. But that feeling doesn’t go away, it scares me. It’s a feeling of change, big change. It’s also a feeling of contentment and something like a calling. A calling to accept this life that’s whispering to me. Lily’s life. The life of a Christan. Suddenly my defenses drop, as if something broke them down. I start to accept this idea, of a savior. My mind starts to realize how blessed I am. How I have a home, maybe not a dream home but a home. And I’m having a chance at a friend, Jason. And Lily. I’ve found her and she the most amazing sister I could ever have. Maybe a God is watching over me, maybe there is some kind of guardian angel is watching over me. I don’t really know for sure but maybe, maybe if there is. I will accept it. Because my mind is willing to realize it.

Leave a Reply

