Chapter 44~ As the Sun Peeks Through the Trees~

Hey guys, next part! Yay! New? ClicHere

Koda, has changed. Something’s off about him. Every time he wakes up, he wakes up screaming. Then he becomes distant, asking me not to talk, asking me to leave the room. I always obey, hoping it’ll help. I just don’t know how to deal with this. I send a message to Jethen. Maybe he’ll know how to fix this. I get a reply a couple days later, he’s going to come over. When Koda sleeps, it’s restless. He tosses and turns. Then he’ll yell out warnings to people. People I can’t see. He’s been able to get up and walk around, if he uses crutches, but he often stops and stares off into space and doesn’t realize I’m still there until hours later. I try to help him but everything has fallen apart. I’m starting to fall apart too.

***

“Hello? Flower?” Jethen walks in, I smile when I see him. It’s good to see a similar face. “I’m here.”

“Thank you.” I walk up to him and he wraps me in a hug.

“No problem. Just hang in there, ok?” He pats me on the shoulder. I’m honestly surprised with Jethen, he’s taking something seriously. “Oh, and I brought you some presents.”

“Really?” I ask, doubtful. Two people walk in the room. Remi and Solstice. They wave. I smile. Solstice looks over at Koda, her face falls.

“What happened?” She asks, voice a whisper.

“I don’t know. But it was something bad. He’s a different person.” I rub my arms, trying to create some warmth in them. Koda’s asleep right now, I’m not sure when he’ll awake, probably soon though. This is the longest he’s slept peacefully. Remi walks up and gives my hand a squeeze. She gives me a sad smile. “He doesn’t even talk to me anymore.”

“Oh. Well. We’ll figure how to fix him.” Solstice’s bottom lip quivers, I walk up to her. She grabs my hand. She squeezes it, not a comforting squeeze but a ‘help me’ strangle. She’s trying not to cry. “I just got him back.”

Her words are raw, her voice cracking, she’s breaking on the inside. On the outside, her face doesn’t show any emotion, only the smallest quiver of her bottom lip. I look at Jethen, he’s in pain to. Remi hangs in the back, she never got to know Koda very well. Jethen wraps Solstice up in a hug, his strong arms covering her.

This is going to be hard on us. We’re going to suffer together.

Leave a Reply

