Chapter 45~ As the Sun Peeks Through the Trees~

Ok guys, I’ve been writing this story for a veryyyyyy long time… Emphasis on Very. So I’m trying to finish it up for y’all… I’m pretty close. Only one or two more parts. Maybe. We’ll see. Then we can move on to a another, hopefully shorter story. Thank you for your patience! I hope you like this next part! New? Click here.

“So what happened with you and Jethen?” I ask quietly. Remi bites her lower lip. I’m just trying to get my mind off Koda. And the war. And all the stuff.

“Nothing. It wasn’t anything in the first place. I mean-” She thought about her words. “I mean, I really liked him. But he’s occupied. Which I get, Solstice is like a goddess. She’s insanely pretty and like a super amazing fighter… Also, she has this awesome personality so you know. I’m no competition with that.”

“Aww, it’s ok.” I wrap my arm around her shoulder. “You’ll find someone amazing. Trust me.”

“So, what exactly is wrong with Koda?” She asked. In about half a second I feel like crying.

“I dunno.” I mumble. “Something happened in the battlefield and it seriously messed with his brain. It’s almost like his brain is stuck on one memory or something.”

“And we can’t help him?” She says.

“The nurse says there’s a slight chance his brain will get off the loop but it’s small and- and.” My bottom lip starts to tremble so I clamp my teeth down on it to make it stop. I make my voice stronger. “It’ll all work out… I think.”

At that very moment Jethen came in Solstice woke up and Koda said something. It wasn’t the fact that Koda said anything, he did that all the time. It was what he said. His words were strange. But totally relevant to what was going on. The sentence he had mumbled was: Don’t worry Flower, I won’t rip your petals. I swallowed hard.

“Koda?” I said, half of me hoping, the other half trying to kill the hope.

“Don’t worry Flower.” He said, making eye contact with me. Staring into my eyes. Something he hasn’t done since I found him here. “I’m right here.”

“You sure?” I asked, my voice breathy. “You’ve been gone for a while.”

“Flower…” He whispered. He was off still but maybe not as off. He reached up a hand and touched my hair. It was just a poof of orange, a wild nest. His was touch so soft that I barely felt it. But he gaze I felt. It was intense. Something else.

“Koda,” I said, suddenly wary. “What’s my name?”

“Flower.” He said. I bit my lip.

“No. No, it’s Poppy. Can you call me that?” I asked. But the second the words came out of my mouth. Koda’s mind had moved far away from here. He was back in his own world. I had lost him. I walked out of the room. I kicked myself. I shouldn’t have reprimanded him. I should’ve just went with it. I wanted to scream but I was already getting weird looks from the nurses. I half smiled at them then walked quickly outside. People watched me as I fumed outside so I decided to go somewhere else. I ran into the forest. I found a study tree and I starting punching the trunk. I threw all my anger at it. Screaming at it, telling it that it was unfair and unkind. I yelled until I started crying. I broke down and soon I was sitting in the roots of the tree, begging it for comfort. My knuckles were bloody and my hands hurt like heck. But I welcomed the pain. I deserved it. I hadn’t stopped Koda from going to war and now he was- He was so broken. Remi came up and sat with me. She did’t say anything. She just sat. Solstice came too. And finally Jethen. And we just sat. And the silence was welcomed.

 

Leave a Reply

