Chapter 46~ As the Sun Peeks Through the Trees~

Hey guys… Sorry, I disappeared. 😐 But I’m back! Yay! Um, yea this story is still going. I’m trying to figure out the ending. I hope you enjoy! I will posting some other things too later on, so I hopefully won’t disappear again. πŸ˜‰

Eventually everyone left. It was only me and Solstice sitting, still silent.

“I just got him back.” Solstice said, her voice was hoarse from not using it. “I had finally found him. I got him back… And he’s gone again. It’s like he’s trying to avoid me.”

“I doubt that. He talked about you a couple times. He loved you a lot.” I smile sadly, picking at the few blades of grass around me.

“He talked about you too. Gosh he talked about you.” I look over her with a confused look. “He thought you were an angel or something. It was gross.”

“Really, he talked about me?” My lip twitches upward. “You and Jethen probably talk about each other like that.”

“I dunno. Probably.” She shrugs, “I think me and Jethen as a survival strategy. We watch each other’s backs and protect each other. We just get each other, we make decisions together, nice and simple. That probably makes no sense.”

“Kinda.” I say, talking to Solstice is like talking to a best friend. Which I guess she is because, she’s Livy. But it’s different talking to her, like I’m talking to a different person. I get up, brushing off soil from my palms. “We should probably go.”

“Are you going to be ok?” Solstice asks, looking at me with such worry.

“Yup, he’ll get better soon.” I say, trying to give myself some confidence. I walk back to the medical building. As I walk back I see someone go into the Koda’s room. I run the rest of the way, who is this person. I burst into the room. The man turns to me.

“Hello, I was looking for you.” There’s nothing special about him, soldiers uniform, kind eyes. Who is he?

“Oh, ok.” I bite my lip, “Who are you?”

“That doesn’t matter.” I frown at this, “I’m just carrying a message. You’re wanted on the front. We need you.”

“Um, no thank you.” I try a smile but I know it’s not even close to convincing. My heart pounds and my fear builds in my throat. “I have to take care of Koda and stuff…”

“We took care of that. He has a nurse assigned to him. You’re truck leaves in twenty minutes.” The man’s voice was different than his eyes. His eyes showed sympathy, his voice had no emotion.

“I- I-” I have no words. I’m going to war. And I can’t stay here with Koda. My lip trembles slightly. I strengthen myself slightly, “Ok. Let me get my things.”

Solstice grabs my shoulder, squeezing it slightly.

“I’ll be back.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Chapter 46~ As the Sun Peeks Through the Trees~

Leave a Reply

