Coffee Shop-

Hello good readers, of there are any of you. Anyway, I wrote this as an excercise. And I also had writers block for my story. I hope you like it!

She sat quietly. Hands in her lap, legs crossed. Her dirty blonde hair was folded up into a braid and her feet pushed into a pair of heels, a simple dress covered her slender figure as her golden eyes studied the frothy liquid that pooled in her cup. She was still. Still as if she was a figure carved from granite. The sun from the window flooded into the cafe from behind her, outlining her still figure.

I couldn’t stop staring. I was staring because she was so normal and yet so different. She was average looking yet a goddess. The coffee shop seemed to move around her. As if she was the center of the atmosphere. But no one else paid attention to her. She was the most important thing in the room but she was invisible. I felt a pull to go talk to her. A want to figure out who she was. A need to figure out what she was doing here. I gathered my small amount of courage and wit. I got up, gripping the strap of my backpack tightly. 

“Hey.” I said softly, like I’m talking to a deer. I felt like I would scare her with my voice. Her golden eyes slowly traveled up to meet my green ones. She didn’t answer at first, just looks up into what seems like my soul. 

“Hello.” She said, her voice dancing on the small breeze coming from the open door. 

“Can I sit here?” I asked, still staring into her eyes that glittered in the sunlight. 

“I’m not going to stop you.” Her voice had a slight amusement in it. 

“Kay thanks.” I sat down, then offered my hand. “I’m Maverick.” 

“Adeline.” She said with a polite smile, accepting it. The skin on her hand was tough yet smooth. Her nails were unpainted, uneven edges. “Do I know you from somewhere?” 

“Uh, no, a least not that I know of.” I said, my cheeks heating. “You just looked like an… interesting… person to talk to…” 

“Oh, I don’t get that a lot.” She said with a scrunched brow. 

“Really?” I bit my lip there a little, “I feel like you would be told that often.”

“You’re sweet.” She chuckled, an amused look dancing on her face. My whole face lights on fire. She suddenly added, “But. I have to go. I’ll see you later.”

“Oh ok, bye.” I say, disappointed. Adeline gets up, leaving her coffee. As she walks, heels clicking the cracked tile floor. I watched as her braid fell over her shoulder. I glanced at her coffee, she hadn’t taken a sip of it. It still had a feather drawn in froth on it. I add quietly as she left, “Maybe I’ll see you later?” 

Ok, so what do you think? If you liked it, comment. If you disliked it, comment. If you can’t comment because you’reeating waffles while doing this, I forgive you. πŸ˜‰ 

6 thoughts on “Coffee Shop-

  1. I liked this! It makes me wonder what would have happened if she would’ve stayed and the two would’ve started talking. It also made me wonder why she agreed to let him join her if she was only going to leave. It makes me wonder what happened next!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

