Drawing in the Snow~

Hey guys, I’m a little nervous about posting this because I’m not sure what I think about it quite yet… Anyway, I would love it if you could read it and comment below what you thought.

I knew everything about her. I knew everything about her because she told me. I knew what her favorite color, flower, scent, shirt. I knew where she lived and what office she worked in. I knew because she had trusted me. And now for some reason she didn’t. I hadn’t done anything, not that I knew of a least. One day she’s telling me we’re meant to be and the next she’s not picking up my calls, not answering my texts. She didn’t even respond when I said to hi to her on her way to work. Which is how we got to now. Me standing in the snow with only a sweatshirt and her in her warm heated office.

I look up at the window, wondering how to get her attention. I look around. My eyes settle on a row of cars. Old things. They didn’t look like they’d been driven in a while. I try to really think. I have found that having a girlfriend is harder than one would think. Not only do you have to love a girl with all your heart, you have to keep her happy. And to do that, you have to change your thinking. You have to think like them. I learned this the hard way. Apparently, bringing your girlfriend to hang with all your buddies… is not ok. No one told me about that.

So as I look at these old cars, I have to think about what her opinion would be. How can I make these old cars look romantic? Oh! Oh! That’s not a horrible idea. You’re a genius.

I go to one of the cars. I draw a heart on it. My finger tracing through the snow. The flakes crunching underneath my fingertips. The smooth surface of the black car slowly appearing. I draw a arrow through the heart, thinking it’ll look more appealing. Then I go to the  next car. I draw a single line on that one. On the next I write the word love. On the last, the word you. There. That should do it.

I grab my phone a text her one more time, praying she’ll read it.

I left you a message, look out the window.

Then as an after though I add,

Please.

I sit on a stoop of an office entrance. Basically I’m loitering, while simultaneously hoping I don’t get arrested or something. Do you really get arrested for standing around doing nothing?

Snow starts to fall. Crap. I walk back out to the cars, the letters are starting to get covered. I trace The letters over and over. My hands starting to freeze. This better be worth it. I don’t like snow. Or rain. Or anything cold.

A few minutes later. I see her look out the window. Thank the heavens, my fingers are freezing. After a couple seconds, she’s outside. Her arms wrapped around me. I wrap mine around hers.

“So why were you mad at me?” I ask, pulling her away.

“I just heard some rumors and…” She laughed a little, “it was a stupid reason. It doesn’t matter. Thank you.”

“Of course. Am I allowed in your office?” I rub my arms dramatically, “it’s freezing.”

“It’s not that cold.” She says with a smirk.

“Yes. Yes it is. Look, you can see my breath!” I exhale hard through my mouth. “I look like a smoker.”

“Ugh fine. But don’t let my boss see you.” She laughed. I continue to blow out my breath.

“Look. See that? It’s cold.”I say, joking.  She pushes me inside, laughing. Everything in it’s place. For now.

 

Soo, I’m dying to know what you think. ((That’s not sarcastic I swear)) I hope you enjoyed it. A like gets you a cake and a comment gets you a life time supply of waffles. 

6 thoughts on “Drawing in the Snow~

Leave a Reply

