Day Ten~

Hello! SO I sorta kinda maybe skipped a day. Sorry. Again. It’s just a had this huge Bio exam and was trying to memorize four chapters of details on mitosis. So yea, my brain was the same consistency as oat meal with too much coconut oil. ((You can say EW here, not telling you how to live your life, just a helpful suggestion.))

Today’s Challenge:

Write a goodbye story:

img_2044

I walked past rows and rows of small deposit boxes. They all had the same chipped green paint and rusted locks. The only differences were the numbers. I was only looking for one in particular. 243. A number that wouldn’t matter to anyone except for me. And one other person. But he’s not here. And his absence is the reason of my presence. My fingers run over each box, a slight ping to let the empty air know I’m here. Flecks of rust remain on my fingers as I look for those three numbers. Those numbers that don’t matter to anyone but mean the world to mw.  Then I stopped. It was there. It was right there. But it was open. I rush over to it, looking inside. Nothing.

“No.” I murmur. It has to be here. He told me it would be here.

“You trust me so completely.” A voice say. A familiar voice. A voice that brings tears to my eyes when I hear it. I turn and find him smiling sadly at me. His eyes are filled with tears too. I almost break when I see him. I can barely move at first. But he comes over and wraps his arms around me. I melt into him.

“I do.” Is all I can say. I can only say those because those are the only words that stay in my brain long enough to say them. Too many thoughts flow through me, I can’t even think them, much less say them. “Where have you been?”

“I can’t tell you…” His words are filled with regret and almost… shame?

“You’ve been gone for two years and you can’t tell me why?” I ask, suddenly not happy anymore, suddenly angry.

“I’m sorry Legend. I just can’t tell you. But I do have something to say.” He said, his eyes told me that it was breaking him to say that. But they were also telling me that he was doing what he thought was right.

“What if I don’t want to hear it? We’re siblings, yet the last couple times I’ve talked to you, you’ve hurt me more than anyone else could.” I say, now I am crying. Tears falling out of my eyes and onto the the floor. “Phoenix I don’t think I want to hear it.”

“This isn’t a matter of want. It’s a matter of what you need. You need to hear this.” He said, pulling me even closer. I grab onto his sweat shirt, begging him not to talk. I remember when we were younger, I would hug tighter if I was scared, he would do his best to make it stop. But today, it worked the opposite. I more I squeezed, the closer he got to scaring me.

“I’m leaving for good.” He said. I shook my head.

“No.” I kept shaking my head as the rest of me trembled. “Phoenix why did you come back if you were just going to break me again?”

“Because I wasn’t sure if you would actually find the locker and I needed to give you this.” He murmured. He slipped a piece of paper in my hand. I didn’t look up. I just held him tighter.

“I can’t do this again.” I begged. He kissed the top of my head and worked my fingers off his jacket. I looked up at him. The pain in his face matched my feelings. “Don’t go.”

“I have to.” He cleared his throat and wiped his nose. My knees went weak and I collapsed to the floor. He walked out but I stayed. For a long time, blubbering and trembling. Because I couldn’t think of what was more important than his younger sister. I looked at the paper in my hands. I unfolded it slowly, shaking hands slowing the process. The paper held the one thing that would get me through, the note held a clue. A clue to find a piece of a puzzle that would fix everything. A clue to finding hope.

So, what do you think? Comment below!

3 thoughts on “Day Ten~

Leave a Reply

