~Snippet~

Hey, I’m here. I realized I haven’t posted anything in a really really long time and I feel bad. I just have nothing to post right now, my creative juices are being used in someone else’s smoothie right now. Anyway, I have a snippet from the novel I’m working on and  I thought why not? So I’m sorry if it makes like zero sense but it makes me happy when I read it so, enjoy.

~~~~

I take a deep breath as I walk to the locker. Every pair of eyes are on me. Maybe not every pair but enough to make me blush. I’m too old to be here. Too old to be a sophomore. A flipping sophomore. I’m too old. I ignore their gazes and look down at my feet, I just need to get to my locker. And then to my class. And then home. I only have to get to my locker. I stare at my shoes. The red converse Phoenix bought me. The shoes that are my favorite color. They stand out from the black and white but I don’t mind. I’m proud of my outfit today, I didn’t have Camo’s help. I’m wearing a red flannel over a black tank top and a pair of shorts. It’s too cold for shorts I think. But I’m so used to the cold that I wear them, even in the snow.I sling my backpack over my shoulder and decided that the school board should invest on some new flooring. I walk three, four, five more steps and I’m at my locker. My fingers fumble with the lock but it finally opens. I open my backpack and sort through what I need for the next class and what can stay. I glance at the inside of the locker door as I start to close it. My eyes catch on a picture. That’s new. I grab it, it’s a picture. Of me. And Kace. I smile slightly, we’re in the back of a pickup truck. He’s grinning like he has the world and I’m dancing around him, my hair tangled in a flower crown. He’s ten and I’m six, I cock my head in confusion. Who put this here?

“I figured you would want something to make it feel like home,”  A familiar voice murmurs. I don’t even have to turn to remember the voice. I close my locker and find Phoenix wearing a crooked grin.

“What are you doing here?” I ask, my heart beating to strange rhythm. I can’t help but grin a little more at him. His russet eyes staring back into my amber ones. His fingers rest on the locker next to mine. Absently mindedly playing with the lock.  

“Well. I was thinking, that a new school is terrifying. And. I technically never finished high school. So I figured, you would need a friend. And that’s who I can be,” He moves a little closer. My eyes drop again, my smile fully fledged. I can’t help but glance up at him again, my cheeks slightly red.

“Well. I’m thinking that, we, as two people,” I pause wondering if I should take the leap, “Are more than just friends?”

“Ah, friends don’t kiss on a regular basis do they?” He asks, dimples appearing. Memories bounce through my head, his lips around mine, my hands in his hair, his fingers on my face, the world absent around us.

“No. I don’t think so,” I shake my head, my hands hugging my books tightly. “But I’m not an expert.”

“Ok, then my proposal changes,” Phoenix grabs the books from my arms and laces his fingers with mine as he turns me to the hall.

“How so?” I arch a brow, as we start walking. I’m suddenly able to look every single student in the eye. I’m somehow not afraid, I’m suddenly ready to take them on.

“Well, maybe I won’t be just your friend. Maybe…” He lowers his head to whisper in my ear, his lips brushing the fly away hairs from my braid. “Maybe I’ll be more.”

“I like that proposal a lot more,” I say with another smile, a different one. A smile of feeling safe. Something I haven’t felt since… since before the cell.

“Me too,” He kisses my hand, very softly. Those lips that had just tickled my ears now leaving my hand tingling.  We continue to walk through the sea of people. Me, 18. Him, 19. Me, sophomore. Him, junior. Both, too old. But just the right age to know we’ll survive.

~~~~

If this is you, 

Sorry. But I hoped you liked it either way. 🙂 

2 thoughts on “~Snippet~

Leave a Reply

