~You’re My Sunshine~

“You’re my sunshine. My only sunshine.

You make me happy. When skies are grey.

You’ll never know dear.

How much I love you.

Please don’t take my sunshine away.”

I open my eyes slowly, her cries fill the air. Soft little whimpers. She’s probably hungry. Or bored. I peel off the blue covers, smiling to myself. I walk down the creak wooden hallways and jiggle the handle as I walk into her room. She can’t see me yet, her crib blocks her view. I creep to the edge of her rail and peer over.

“Hey baby!” I smile. She looks at me and smiles back, her little teeth poking through her gums. She reaches a cubby hand to my long hair that hangs into the bed and grabs it. She gives it a small tug, not a hard one, just a love tug. I laugh a little and make a face. She laughs a little. I grab her by the arm pits and balance on my hips as I straighten the crib and hand her her blanket. Her blue grey eyes look back at me and she whimpers. So not bored, maybe a diaper change will help. I lay her down and let her play with a stuffed animal and change her out of her onesie. I put a hand band on her soft tuft of red hair and start to walk to the kitchen. She whimpers a little more and looks at the fridge longingly. I kiss her on the head and set her on the floor as I get a cup of milk for her. She smiles up at me again, I can never get over those eyes. They make me grin every time. I hand her the milk and she starts to suck on it. She’s the best thing that’s happen to be. Sure sh came a little sooner than I thought but she’s perfect. She’s the only thing that keeps me smiling. The only thing that makes me dance or sing.

2 thoughts on “~You’re My Sunshine~

Leave a Reply

