~ Why Am I Here? ~ Part Five~

AHHHH okay. I’m here. Hello, welcome back my fellow bloggers. Or readers. Or, whatever you are… If you’re actually a vampire, call me and we can be buddies. Anyway part number five! Finally… 

Part Four

Part Three

Part Two

Part One

~~~

“So now we get to the fun part,” Legend grins. Her long brown hair is now completely dark blue and the amount make up she has on should be illegal. I think if we put her through a lie detector, it would start beeping before she even spoke.

“Yea, super fun, breaking the law,” I mutter as she gather up all her stuff and dumps it in the trash can. We clean up our things and walk back to Legend’s car. She grabs a packet of gum and sticks it in the backpack that we are now using as our supplies backpack. Then she pulls her hair into a ponytail and looks at me, squinting her eyes.

“You look really good,” She nods, “Like really, really good. If you want to ditch and find a girl-”

“We need him,” Ellis cuts her off. I cough a little, trying to hide my surprise. Legend bites her lip and nods. I can she her little match making eyes lighting up.

“Okay fine, we need him.” She winks in my direction. I throw on a hoodie and stick my hands in my pockets, trying not to think about that comment. A world of possibilities has been opened to me with that comment. “So we know the plan. More or less.”

“Less,” I nod. They have a plan. And since I’m a guy, that’s the reason they gave anyway, I wouldn’t understand the plan. I’m assuming this means I’ll have to of something I don’t like. Which has happened more than once.

“Whatever,” She throws a peice of gum into her mouth and chews on it, thinking. “So, we should all sleep right now. Because we won’t be sleeping all night.”

“Unless we get caught, I’ve heard jaili s a really nice place to sleep,” I sigh. I climb into the passenger seat and prop my feet up, pulling on my hood. Ellis climbs in the back and Legend in the driver seat. My sister falls asleep in about three seconds flat, guess 7 cups of coffee wasn’t enough to keep her awake. I don’t though. I keep looking back at Ellis, whose pretending to be asleep. She looks so strange, blonde isn’t really her color either. And yet… she looks beautiful. Because she’s Ellis. And even if she changed her face completely, I would still love her.

“Phoenix,” She mumbles.

“Yea?” I ask, taking the chance to look at her again. She’s still laying down, on her back now.

“I’m sorry,” She says, not making eye contact with me.

“Why?” My voice is soft, whispery since I’m trying to wake Legend up.

“Just am.” She matches me tone. She looks over at me, making eye contact for a split second, then biting her lip. “I’m sorry you met me.”

I start to respond. But she rolls over and it’s clear she doesn’t want a response. Sorry that I met her? Why? Because I love her? Becuase… why? I puzzle over it for about an hour. And I’m no closer to an answer by the time it gets dark. Legend springs awake, like a machine being turned on.

“Goodness,” She yawns and stretches, hitting my face with her arm, “I need coffee.”

“You make me sick,” I murmur. I’m still jittery from the last infusion. “So, do we have a plan?”

“Mhm,” Legend nods. She checks her face in the mirror. She messes with some of the makeup and reapplies lipstick then snaps the mirror shut. I turn to see Ellis waking up. Her eyes are half closed as she sits up and her hair is frizzy now. She yawns, looking like a kitten. I almost smile but stop myself. Legend taps on the steering wheel a couple times then nods. “Let’s go.”

“We’re so spending the night in jail,” I mumble.

“What happened to your sense of adventure?” Legend steps out of the car, “Oh my gosh I love the night air.”

“Legend be quiet,” She’s talking way too loud. Ellis flattens her hair and steps out of the car.

“C’mon Phoenix, did you really loose it?” She laughs. I start to ask her but her and Legend already are off. I follow, wondering whose gonna bail us out.

~~~

When we get to the building. Ellis does her thing with the computers and manages to loop the camera. We have to unlock the door to the first floor next. It takes me a while but I eventually manages to get the lock to turn. Legend goes in first. She’ll check the garage for anyone. Me and Ellis wait in the silence, hiding in the bushes. Ellis checks every few minutes to make sure the cameras are still looped.
“Where is she?” I check my watch, she has two more minutes and then I go in after her.

“Let her do her thing,”   Ellis murmurs. I take this chance to talk to her.

“Elis what did you mean in the car-”

“We’re not talking about this right now,” She says, “I think I hear Legend.”

“So we will, talk about it?” But she’s right, Legend is coming. I hear her heels clicking on the concrete. She appears in the doorway.

“Sorry, these guys were messing around there,” she sighs, “I managed to get them to go away.”

“Alright,” Ellis murmurs, “You know where the car is?”

“Yea,” Legend nods. And then grins. “And I got the keys already.” She holds them up.

She has not lost any of her talent, that’s for sure. She’s always been good at charming people. Just a nice smile and a little bit of flirting, could get her a long way. Just as we start to go in, a siren and flashing red and blue lights make us stop dead in our tracks.

~~~

4 thoughts on “~ Why Am I Here? ~ Part Five~

Leave a Reply

