6. Roots, a haunting love song, a stolen kiss

Okay hey guys! Here’s today’s post. And I based it off the triplets (Minus Roan) because I suddenly love them a lot. I made them up on the spot a couple days ago but they’re like my new favorites so yea. Anyway, I hope you enjoy!!

 

I sit, nestled in the roots of a tree. My breath shallow and quick. My heartbeat echoing around the trees. I cover my ears for a second, so I can focus on the pulse. Better than focusing on everything else. I bang my head against the rough bark of the tree. I can barely feel it with all my hair. It’s all bundled into a kinda pony tail in the back. You could probably shoot a bullet through it and it would only get halfway through before being slowed by the massive ball of curls and afro. I close my eyes, humming a little.

“I remember that song,” I snap open my eyes and move my hands from my ears, one of the corners of my lips lifting. I can’t help it, I love this kid too much. It’s Asher, hands in his pockets, eyes down. He looks up, for the briefest of moments, to look me in the eye. His eyes are so full. A book is sticking out of his back pocket. His hands are covered in faded reminders and doodles that have been drawn in marker.  “I always thought it was a little creepy though.”

“I guess, I just always liked it because-” He cuts me off. 

“Because Dane always sang it? Gosh Kell, you’ve got to get over him,” Asher sits next to me, his hands moving to his lap. They wrap around each other. His wrists 

“Why?” I let out a small mirthless laugh. “Not like I’m going to find anyone else.”

“Because it’s not healthy, that’s why.” He sighs, “You’re sitting here, in a tree, singing some weirdo song that you’re ex, who you dated like three years ago, sung to you,” He rests his head on my shoulder, “I’m just saying, you could at least get a dog or something.”

“Well when you put it that way,” I roll my eyes. “We can’t afford a dog.”

“Yea well, maybe a gold fish,” He shrugs. 

“Who needs a goldfish when you have an Asher,” I ask, wrapping my fingers in a loose curl and pull at it.

“Did you even kiss the guy?” He scoffs. He gets up and brushes himself off.

“That’s private,” I slap him a little.

“You never kissed him,” Asher shook his head, “You’re still hung up on a guy that you didn’t even-“

“I did kiss him!” I say quickly, my face heating, “Once. And it’s none of your business.”

“Once?” He raises a brow. “When?”

“Right before he left. He just kissed me, left me standing there like an idiot and disappeared,” I say it too fast, I barely understand it myself.

“Huh,” Asher peers at me for half a second, nods, then starts to walk back towards the house. I watch him a leave. He’s a good brother. Even if he’s a little strange.

4 thoughts on “6. Roots, a haunting love song, a stolen kiss

Leave a Reply

