7. Fire works, a lake after dark, shoe laces

Okay! Today’s post, enjoy!

 

 

“Shh!” I giggle, almost falling over from laughing. Phoenix steadies me.

“You’re the one being loud,” he hisses. I trip over my untied shoes and grab his arm, pulling him down with me. He lands on top on me. He raises a brow, slowly. I giggle again. He pulls himself off and lays down next to me. I can feel his heartbeat. Slow and steady, very different from mine. Mine’s about to explode out of my chest.

“So when are they gonna be here?” I ask, our hands wrap together. Little sparks exchange through our skin.

“The fireworks?”

“Mhm,” I nod.

“Tomorrow,” He smirks a little, I sigh, “Should be here in a few minutes.”

“Why are you always so sarcastic?” I roll my eyes.

“Why are you so easy to mess with?” The lake laps at the shore, reflecting the sky  above it.

“Touche,” I bury my face in him for a few seconds, he smells like grease and mint. Weird combination, but it’s him. And I love him for it. “This is a good spot.”

“Yea good thing you didn’t tie your shoes,” He scoffs.

“Can you tie them for me?” I give him big eyes and pouty lips.

“Why?” He looks so done. Like he’s wondering why he ever dated me. I’m still kinda wondering myself.

“Because I’m gonna take a picture of all my friends tying my shoes, put them into a album and when my kids ask me what I was like when I was younger, I’ll tell them that everyone did my bidding and show them the pictures,” I say in one breath.

“Well in that case,” He nods sarcastically and gets up to tie my shoes. While he’s tying them, the first firework goes off. I jump at the noise. But my eyes widen when it explodes.

“Did you see that!” My mouth is wide open, I bounce a little with excitement. “Did you see that? Oh my fish, tell me you saw-“

“Ellis?”

“Yea Phoenix?” I don’t take my eyes off the sky as the next one goes off.

“Have you never seen fireworks?” He sits back down next to me. I point out the blue one.

“Umm… no,” I look at him after a second, feeling guilty for some reason.

“You’ve never seen them?” I shake my head, “Dang, okay, well, watch carefully.”

“They just did three! Oh my gosh they just did three at a time,” I bite my lip and he shakes his head.

“Dork,” He murmurs. I lay my head on his chest and watch the fireworks, my eyes reflecting their color.

2 thoughts on “7. Fire works, a lake after dark, shoe laces

  1. THIS. ~> “Because I’m gonna take a picture of all my friends tying my shoes, put them into a album and when my kids ask me what I was like when I was younger, I’ll tell them that everyone did my bidding and show them the pictures,” I say in one breath. XD I’M DYING!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

