some quarantine thingz- a short list of things to keep that big brain occupied

hello! (im here lol, idk if ill post regularly but now i have 0 excuse so)
so, as most of the world, I’m in self-isolation. I’m lucky enough to be able to quarantine and not be too affected by this whole crazy time. To all of you who are in similar situations, I wanted to make a short list of things I’ve been doing to keep myself busy. Not sure if it’s incredibly helpful, feel like every blogger/vlogger/celebrity/etc./etc. has put out one of these but oh whale. here she is. 

-Watch a movie critically and write down your thoughts on it. 
I like to do this so in the future I can remember if and why I liked a certain film. The writing can be anything from bullet points to a full essay depending on my mood. It’s a good way to keep track of what kind of movies you like. I personally found out I really dig a good thriller, which was something I hadn’t really known about myself.

-Write Down Your Dreams
I know some people don’t dream and if that’s you, I’m so sorry and disregard this point. I dream a ton. So I like to write them down then from there I either figure out how they connect to my life. I feel like people all the time says dreams are either prophecies or your subconscious working through a problem while your brain rests. I like writing them down because my dreams are odd and usually they don’t connect to my life at all so the connections and applications I make, are big leaps.

-Write Some Poetry!
I am actually going to do a post on this butttt, if you’re bored you should try out Escapril. Escapril is pretty much like Inktober but for poets. They give you prompts to write about each day. It helps keep your writing skills flowing and it’s a good practice since some of their prompts are topics you wouldn’t usually write on.

-Make Collages using old books/magazines/family photos
(I’ll attach some of photos of ones I’ve done in the past as examples)

-Reorganize Your Spotify
Or apple music or whatever music streaming platform you prefer. I feel like with how much music out there and how much I listen to, I lose songs and artists that I really enjoyed. So I go through my old playlists to find artists I haven’t listened to in a while and combine them all into a master playlist. I also like to change the pictures of the playlists covers, names and descriptions from time to time.

-Write Letters to your Friends
This one is pretty self-explanatory but do it! Your friend will think you’re cool and retro and the forever dying postal service will love you for not making them carry yet another amazon package. I like to put stickers, dried flowers, tea packages, cute photos and tons of other things in my letters.

-Listen to Podcasts
Or write your own, currently trying to figure out how to do that myself lol. Some podcasts I recommend are:
TANIS– gives me Gravity Falls but not for children vibez
RABBITS– made by the same people as TANIS, has a great compelling story line
My Favorite Murder– a true-crime podcast that feels like you’re hearing the story being told to you by a friend or at a party.
Welcome To Nightvale– not totally sure how to explain this one b u t, super funny
The Clearing– This one is a true-crime podcast where a woman discovers her father is a serial killer and her and this journalist uncover her father’s dark secrets. Very, very interesting.

Make Pinterest Boards for Your Friends-
This is probably the cutest idea I’ve ever come up with on my own. You can see all my lovely friends’ boards right here. It’s not only really fun to do but it’s a nice little vitural present to give a pal. Screen Shot 2020-04-07 at 03.51.57.png

Play a Relaxing Game-
My personal favorites are Animal Crossing, Minecraft and Night In the Woods. The first two are pretty popular so I won’t talk about them too much. But I do wanna say, even if you do not have New Horizons (like me rip) then I 100% recommend Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp. It’s still lots of fun. I said relaxing because these types of games can suck up hours of my time and completely immense me in my little video game life, where I don’t have to worry about much besides my growing debt to Tom Nook and making sure my horse is decked out in diamond armor.
I do wanna talk about Night in The Woods a little bit more. Night in the Woods it’s the only computer game I’ve ever really played. (You can buy it through Steam for about $20 and it’s totally worth it) It’s an indie game about a girl (who is a cat) dropping out of college and returning home, then spooky things start happening in her town and to her. The art is amazing, the storyline is even better. Better yet, you can play through it multiple times and stumble upon different storylines. (I’ve played it 3 times and I’m still not done finding all the different paths you can go on. Its a really precious game and has a special place in my heart.

That about wraps it up for me. I also do all the normal things like fall asleep during my Zoom classes and refuse to do my laundry but that’s my list of semi-interesting things to do. Hopefully, some of these will prompt you to fill your new hours of free time. If not, then I hope your hours have already been filled. 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Okay but your collages are so pretty?? like?? SO PRETTY?? 😀

    I’ve recently been getting into podcasts! (if you wrote a podcast i would totally listen to it btw) Oooh, I am totally checking out TANIS and RABBITS. I love me some Gravity Falls vibes.

    And YES Night in the Woods is SO. GORGEOUS. I haven’t played it myself *sad face* but I’ve watched a couple Youtubers play it and WOW IT’S SO GOOD.

    Hope you’re doing well amidst this craziness! <333

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Laurel says:

      Ahaha thank youuu it’s cause my friends are so pretty :,)

      Oh my goodness thank you! If it ever actually happens you’ll be the first to kno! Yes. I’m always so impressed by the production value of RABBITS and TANIS. Also the story is just so compelling.

      Night in the Woods has such a special place in my heart. I’m really not a gamer, I don’t usually have the Paitence for it, but I could live that game and probably be content. You should totally buy it it’s 100% worth it.

      Hope you’re doing well too! It’s a wild time

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Laurel says:

        Update: I just realized you meant my paper collages. I was def thinking Pinterest ones. My bad haha.
        Thank you so much man, I’m glad you enjoy them!!

        Like

Leave a comment